oneschemeofhappiness

Related Schemes and Literature

Fessin’ Up

Blogs are conversations with those you may never meet, most likely will never meet in person. At least that’s how I see it. It is using a new and different medium, and broadening the scope of ‘conversation.’ We don’t go back and edit our spoken conversations unless it is really important to do so, nor do we stop in the middle to verify the information we think we know, again unless it is really important. Post A Day is an ice-breaker, or conversation starter. It’s supposed to get the ball rolling, and has certainly gotten this wallflower out onto the dance floor, though he has not mastered all the steps.
NaNoWriMo is different. I don’t see it so much as a conversation, but as a fun and challenging way to fulfill part of the necessary practice for the eventual mastery of the art of writing. A visual artist practices drawing lines over and over to learn how different motions and pressures affect the appearance and to build those nuances into the memory. Sketches are made, many times of the same subject, many times quite detailed over a long period of time. And most times these sketches never become anything polished or finished. That wasn’t the point–they were done out of love for the art by the artist.
Baseball players warm up with weights on the bat to make it heavier. They swing at more pitches during one practice than they would ever see during a real game. But I don’t see that as overproducing, and once they improve they don’t just stop practicing and only play ‘real’ games for the rest of the season. NaNoWriMo could be our “Spring Training” in the Fall.
As for too much crappy content on the web, I wholeheartedly agree, and that has held me back from writing and sharing for much too long. I came to a realization, though, recently. All that content out there doesn’t matter so much, because it isn’t your crappy content. Babies understand this completely and…um…produce a lot before they ever even speak, let alone communicate with eloquence. Not only will I ‘fess up’ to participating in NaNoWriMo, I will say that I’m a-jumpin’ in. Bring on those diapers and nose plugs, I about to produce!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Fessin’ Up

  1. Man that sure is promizing, it’s good to see you among the NaNoWriMoers!

  2. Great points! I especially like the comparison to artists who draw and redraw lines. Thanks for the post.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read it and post a reply. I am glad that you liked the comparison–those years of hanging out with the art majors are finally starting to pay off 😉 Let us know if you do decide to go for the novel.

  3. I like the idea of the blog as broadening the scope of conversation…and I suppose that a post a day could really invigorate and expand the conversations we have. So I shall let you lead the way, and I will lurk about to see what happens!

    • Thanks for the comment. I used to view blogs as being just a marketing tool, or a place for the ego to rant and rave with little regard for others. Certainly this view continues to be reinforced in the public eye through news stories and media hype, but this view is too narrow and doesn’t match well with reality. I am glad to be discovering that reality now. I only wish perhaps that I had discovered it sooner.

Leave a Reply

